Child Custody and Visitation;
Division of Property; and
Who will be responsible for paying debts.
The divorce process will take at least 6 months and one day. This is a mandatory waiting period required by California law and no couple can be divorced faster than 6 months.
You MUST meet California’s residency requirements. Either you or your spouse must have lived in:
California for the last 6 months, AND
The county where you plan to file the divorce for the last 3 months.
If you and your spouse have lived in California for at least 6 months but in different counties for at least 3 months, you can file in either county.
If you do not meet the residency requirement, you can still file for a legal separation. Once enough time has passed so that you meet the residency requirement for a divorce, you may file an “amended petition” and ask the court for a divorce.
No Fault Divorce
California is a “no fault” divorce state, which means that the spouse asking for the divorce does not have to prove the other spouse did something wrong.
No, either spouse can decide to end the marriage, and the other spouse, even if he or she does not want to get a divorce, cannot stop the process by refusing to participate in the case.
CALL US NOW! (562) 246-6577
Petteno Law © 2015 All Rights Reserved
Please consult an attorney for advice about your individual situation. This site and its information is not legal advice, nor is it intended to be. Feel free to get in touch by electronic mail, letters, or phone calls. Contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship. Until an attorney-client relationship is established, please withhold from sending any confidential information to us.